Text Text

10 Oct

campaign_texting_philippines

One of the first things I observed in the Philippines is the absolutely over the top use of texting. It was one of my first observations and it took me awhile to work out why.

As with most things, there is always a reason why, but coming from a place where a text is mostly used for the relaying of information or messages that are important, it really was puzzling to me when I first got here. It seemed to be a whole way of life for some.

As a new arrival as I was at the time, I had been in restaurants and observed groups of six sitting at a table, awaiting a meal and out of the six, probably four of them would be constantly texting. The other two probably want to text but can’t think what to text at the time. Whereas I smoke like a maniac, it appeared that people here texted for something to do with their hands which I guess is healthier than smoking.

Full Story: http://manilaconciergeonline.wordpress.com

One Response to “Text Text”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Texting, Texting | DailyDays - October 12, 2013

    […] Text Text (balitaktakan.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

